Planning to watch a romantic drama about a monk meeting the love of his life I ended up watching something completely different; Samsara, the documentary.

From the first shots the documentary simply grabbed my attention. Half hungover and for that reason a bit out of this world, I could simply not stop watching. I held my pee longer than I should’ve and my coffee was cold by the time I remembered I had one. What an impressive documentary.

I must honestly say that when I watched it again, it was a bit harder to keep my attention to the screen. Maybe because I’d already seen it once, or maybe my head simply wasn’t in the right atmospheres being sober and all. Anyhows, for me, Samsara is a must-see documentary. It captures the contrasts in this world and this life in amazing high quality images. There’s no talking, no conversation, simply (amazingly chosen!) music to guide you through the story.

The official website describes the documentary as: “Expanding on the themes they developed in Baraka (1992) and Chronos (1985), Samsara explores the wonders of our world from the mundane to the miraculous, looking into the unfathomable reaches of humanity’s spirituality and the human experience. Neither a traditional documentary nor a travelogue, Samsara takes the form of a nonverbal, guided meditation”.

So no further chit chat, sit back, relax and watch this amazing documentary about the contrasts in this life right here! Even more wonderful, it now is available on Netflix as well!

Director: Ron Fricke
Producer: Mark Magidson

With love,

myra

Leave a Reply

